Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
track exporting problem
10-13-2014, 06:04 AM (This post was last modified: 10-13-2014 06:13 AM by slickx.)
Post: #1
track exporting problem
i tried to export the whole track using the export_Jpk but it gives me errors
Line998
Line 353
Line 457
"joepack"object has no attribute versionstr

Please fix the issue so i can get a new track in vdrift..its really frustrating to not be able to get things done because of the limitations of plugins.
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread. here is the track with a blend file and all the textures.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2014, 10:26 AM
Post: #2
RE: track exporting problem
Thanks for reporting the issue. I've pushed a fix ( In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread. ).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2014, 05:36 PM
Post: #3
RE: track exporting problem
it exports but when i import the file is empty there is no geometry.no errors though.
can you make the exporter save the list.txt too ?
also what should i use to export all objects to jpk or .joe ?
Would you make time to write a proper tutorial on track editing importing ?
the video on youtube is kind of old and uses pyton 6.4 i guess?!
thanx
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2014, 11:07 AM (This post was last modified: 10-15-2014 11:15 AM by NaN.)
Post: #4
RE: track exporting problem
(10-13-2014 05:36 PM)slickx Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.it exports but when i import the file is empty there is no geometry.no errors though.
can you make the exporter save the list.txt too ?
also what should i use to export all objects to jpk or .joe ?
Would you make time to write a proper tutorial on track editing importing ?
the video on youtube is kind of old and uses pyton 6.4 i guess?!
thanx

I've had a look at the bend file. Did you create the objects in blender or import them?

To see the problem activate the console in blender (In the top "Info" bar: Window -> Toggle System Console)

You will see something like:
mountain1 not exported. No texture assigned.
mountain2 not exported. No texture assigned.
top not exported. No texture assigned.
rail not exported. No texture assigned.
road not exported. No texture assigned.
water not exported. No texture assigned.

It is also the reason why the objects are white in the 3d view if you select "Texture" as shading.

Blender UV/Texture mapping system is kinda "unintuitive" here (made towards rendering).

You have to select the object (water for example), switch into edit mode, make sure all vertices are selected (press A, orange colored), switch from 3d view to uv editor view, in the uv editor select the image to be linked (click small image icon, select water.png).

Repeat for the other objects, export jpk should be about 313KB list.txt will contain 5 entries.

In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread. // stupid broken image embedding sigh

Is it ok if I use the blend for the tutorial video?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2014, 06:39 PM
Post: #5
RE: track exporting problem
i made the track in Cinema4d and imported it into blender and did not assign the texture the right way it seems.and collisions should be something that i have to add.
its sort of a small project to see if i can get the track into vdrift but with the current information available its kind of hard to manage.
Can we make the water moving by making the texture diffuse+normal+specular move in some way?
Please use the track as you like and please make the track only on the center island since that is how i designed it counter clock wise.
I would have used some rocks and some vegetation but i guess ill have to use those on the other tracks.
NaN thank you again for your great patience in explaining to me what i did wrong and thanx for the help.Cheers!!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2014, 01:55 AM
Post: #6
RE: track exporting problem
well i was able to follow the steps and now i have the track in game but the road seem to not be that solid.half the car goes in the ground when i start the game..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2014, 03:04 AM
Post: #7
RE: track exporting problem
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
here is the track but still the car goes to the ground..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2014, 09:57 AM
Post: #8
RE: track exporting problem
(10-16-2014 03:04 AM)slickx Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
here is the track but still the car goes to the ground..

I'll have a look asap.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2014, 05:36 AM (This post was last modified: 10-17-2014 05:37 AM by slickx.)
Post: #9
RE: track exporting problem
i get some new errors with weekend track
here are the files. the road is the same as the previous track
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
i remade the track.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2014, 07:31 AM (This post was last modified: 10-17-2014 07:35 AM by NaN.)
Post: #10
RE: track exporting problem
(10-16-2014 03:04 AM)slickx Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
here is the track but still the car goes to the ground..

Import track info (track.txt) into blender. You will see that the start position boxes are set up incorrectly.

start position 0 is the same as start position 1 and both are floating above the road. Pull them down to road surface and place them next to each other.

To make it easier enable snap during transform (little magnet icon in the 3d view bar) also select snap to face, closest, align rotation.

Before:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

After:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

When you are done, export track info (track.txt)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-18-2014, 03:43 AM
Post: #11
RE: track exporting problem
so after many hours into struggle of making the starting boxes work i have failed.
can you fix the way boxes are set up in track editor ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2014, 09:24 AM
Post: #12
RE: track exporting problem
@slick I'll try to put out a new tutorial video in the next days, haven't had much time to do anything this weekend.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2014, 04:33 AM (This post was last modified: 10-24-2014 05:10 AM by NaN.)
Post: #13
RE: track exporting problem
Video is up: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

A few general issues, not related to exporting:

The road mesh is too low-poly for its height profile. The cars will get stuck at some point, as the road segments are interpolated by the game, while the collision mesh is not. You want height changes too be as smooth as possible.

The AI seems to have a hard time without having run-off areas, needs some work to make it able to drive such tracks.

You will also notice that the cars tend to get stuck when grinding along the rails, due to the way collision detection with meshes is set up. They are hitting mesh edges. This is a simulation issue, can be disabled, but needs a lot of testing with existing tracks.

Ideally we would have collision geometry not using the meshes used for rendering. I don't think we have the ressorces for this though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-29-2014, 06:08 PM
Post: #14
RE: track exporting problem
I've pushed a few changes to the script ( In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread. ).

When no texture is linked to a mesh, the jpk exporter will try to use the first texture of object material(s), so that you don't have to link them manually.

Roads will now also apply their object transform on export. No need for doing it manually, as shown in the video.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)