Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
09-28-2014, 11:03 AM
Post: #1
Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
Hi,

I've been playing VDrift with a set of Saitek Pro Flight Yoke & Rudder Pedals (which is a strange experience but great fun). I played with the 2012-07-22 release on Windows 7 and everything worked fine.

Now I downloaded the 2014-09-26 version and I can't set all the axes correctly, and as soon as I flick a button on the yoke, the application crashes straight away.

(I don't know what else to report because I'm not familiar with the inner workings of the app, but I am a software developer so feel free to ask complicated things from me. Smile)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-28-2014, 02:36 PM
Post: #2
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
There is a LOG file in C:\Users\"Your USer"\AppData\Roaming\VDrift

see why it crashes.cheers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-28-2014, 03:11 PM
Post: #3
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
Upload your vdrift.config and controls.config and log.txt as mentioned by slickx.

If you could build vdrift and get a backtrace, that would be awesome of course.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-28-2014, 04:20 PM
Post: #4
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
I started out cleanly with no main config, no controls config. And straight away in the main menu if I press any button on the joystick, it crashes. (It also crashes if I do it on the controls setup screen, during a race, every single time, but this is the simplest scenario.)

I'll try to do a build too but it'll take some time, my area is Java and I've never coded or built in C on Windows, only on *nix systems.


Attached File(s)
.txt  log.txt (Size: 2.67 KB / Downloads: 2)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-28-2014, 05:44 PM
Post: #5
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
I've managed to further narrow down the source of the problem to the fact that I've got two joysticks (the yoke and the pedals).

If I remove the pedals, everything works fine.

I also checked the exception code, and it's access violation. Maybe event.jbutton.which returns a number that is different from 0 or 1? I noticed that in eventsystem::Init() the joystick vector is simply built in the order the controllers are enumerated but doesn't check SDL_Joystick.instance_id. But in eventsystem::ProcessEvents() it uses the value of event.jbutton.which as an index into the joystick vector.

It could be a complete red herring though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2014, 11:27 AM
Post: #6
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
(09-28-2014 05:44 PM)biziclop Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.I've managed to further narrow down the source of the problem to the fact that I've got two joysticks (the yoke and the pedals).

If I remove the pedals, everything works fine.

I also checked the exception code, and it's access violation. Maybe event.jbutton.which returns a number that is different from 0 or 1? I noticed that in eventsystem::Init() the joystick vector is simply built in the order the controllers are enumerated but doesn't check SDL_Joystick.instance_id. But in eventsystem::ProcessEvents() it uses the value of event.jbutton.which as an index into the joystick vector.

It could be a complete red herring though.
You are correct. The instance id is not equal to the device id. From testing here they turned out in reverse order for me, first device instance_id being 1 and second 0.

I am wondering why it worked before? Anyway, I'll push a fix, just need to do some more testing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2014, 12:52 PM
Post: #7
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
Maybe the previous version of SDL returned them in a different order, that's all I can think of.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2014, 03:54 PM
Post: #8
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
(09-29-2014 12:52 PM)biziclop Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.Maybe the previous version of SDL returned them in a different order, that's all I can think of.

I've uploaded a new exe here: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2015, 05:06 AM (This post was last modified: 09-16-2015 05:07 AM by run16.)
Post: #9
RE: Crash with Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System
Really interesting stuff.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)