Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
sky dome/horizon rendering broken
10-13-2013, 12:38 AM
Post: #1
sky dome/horizon rendering broken
i'm not really sure when this happened but the sky and the horizon don't get drawn anymore at a large ddistance but instead they get rendered at the original size which breaks quite a few of the tracks. le mans is a good example, just drive a little bit and you'll find yourself outside the sky dome.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2013, 04:29 PM
Post: #2
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
Thanks Alex, I'll look into it as soon as possible.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-16-2014, 03:14 PM
Post: #3
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
looks like the sky dome/horizon rendering broke again. this time i think it is the vertical offset. just go to Ring2007 and you'll see the horizon way up in the sky.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2014, 05:01 PM
Post: #4
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
Will do, thanks again.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2014, 11:39 AM
Post: #5
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
(02-17-2014 05:01 PM)NaN Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.Will do, thanks again.

thanks for fixing it, but i don't understand the commit comment:

TRACK: Add workaround for tracking skyboxes geometry vertical offset (should really be fixed in track data).

what needs to be fixed and how?

--alex--
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2014, 04:32 PM
Post: #6
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
No need to fix anything atm, just a reminder for me, when we eventually switch from joe/jpk to a more capable mesh file format, to adjust skybox geometry so that this workaround can be removed.

In detail:
The old renderer had extra code to center meshes relative to the camera (vertical tracking case) when drawn. The new code ported from gl3 renderer avoids this, but requires the (vertical) center of the mesh to be at origin (z=0). The workaround is doing this when loading the track. It would be cleaner to adjust it in the data though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2014, 11:19 PM
Post: #7
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
(03-01-2014 04:32 PM)NaN Wrote: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.The old renderer had extra code to center meshes relative to the camera (vertical tracking case) when drawn. The new code ported from gl3 renderer avoids this, but requires the (vertical) center of the mesh to be at origin (z=0). The workaround is doing this when loading the track. It would be cleaner to adjust it in the data though.

this is what i was afraid of. if you search through the archives you'll find out the posts where i requested this feature and the reasons why i requested it and the discussion joe and i had. in short, these are tracks imported from other formats and the origin is all over the place (i don't think any are centered at zero, but i could be wrong). aren't you the guy who suggested we should get rid of the bump coeffcients because bumps should be implemented in the mesh? :-( whatever...

--alex--
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-04-2014, 07:22 PM
Post: #8
RE: sky dome/horizon rendering broken
The adjustment is trivial, can/should be automated. What are you afraid of?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)