Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
.jpk and .joe export with Blender 2.61
01-14-2012, 12:13 PM
Post: #1
.jpk and .joe export with Blender 2.61
Hello,

I'm not programmer, just 3d modeler. I would like to develop tracks and cars for Vdrift.
Usually I use 3dsmax and Photoshop but I understand I must use blender for export.

But impossible to make work .jpk and .joe exporters with Blender 2.61.

Can you explain here step by step what I must do ?

What I do : I copy each scripts in Notepad and save it as .py, then I put it in Scripts>AddOn file.
Then I try to activate scripts in Blender (User preferences), but I can't enable scripts, it don't appear.

Thanks a lot for your help...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2012, 12:57 PM
Post: #2
 
Download In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

Place it into 2.61/scripts/addons.

Enable Import-Export VDrift JOE/JPK format.

Tutorials:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

Wiki:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2012, 01:06 PM
Post: #3
 
Exactly what I need. Thanks a lot !! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2012, 01:10 PM
Post: #4
 
For roads you will also need the track editor In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

The track creation process is not really streamlined. Feel free to ask questions if something is ambiguous.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2012, 04:49 PM
Post: #5
 
2 questions :

- What's the best track editor version ? there is 3 versions here...

-How do you assign asphalt, kerbs, grass, sand and wall propreties on a track ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2012, 06:10 PM
Post: #6
 
Quote:What's the best track editor version ? there is 3 versions here...
I guess you are using a recent vdrift release, then the most recent one.

Quote:How do you assign asphalt, kerbs, grass, sand and wall propreties on a track ?
Assign the objects to the related surface groups. Create surface-x groups if required(ctrl+g).

You can also just import a vdrift track(jpk) into blender to get a better idea. There should be groups matching the surfaces in the surfaces.txt of the imported track.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 09:21 AM
Post: #7
 
thanks,
I have more questions :

1) how must I assign the surface as collidable ?

2) why I have only 1 textures appear on the track in game ? I made a track with 3dsmax an assign a multimaterial with 6 textures.
(n°1-asphalt, n°2-grass, etc...)
- I export it as .obj.
- I open the .obj in blende :no problems, mesh and 6 textures appears.
-I export as .jpk, open it n blender : only texture n°6 appears on all the mesh...

can you explain me step by step ? I'm newbie with blender...
and blender 2.61 have any differences with version you used on video !
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 11:44 AM
Post: #8
 
Quote:how must I assign the surface as collidable ?
You have to add it to the collidable group. In 2.4 ctrl+g.
In 2.6:
[Image: grppr.jpg]

To get the available groups simply export as jpk and re-import.

Quote:why I have only 1 textures appear on the track in game ? I made a track with 3dsmax an assign a multimaterial with 6 textures.
VDrift doesn't support custom materials. You have to provide a diffuse texture.
You can provide material and normal maps. Just call them xxx-misc1.png, xxx-misc2.png.
misc1: rgb: fresnel reflectance value at zero degrees, a: micro-scale roughness
misc2: rgb: normal

Quote:and blender 2.61 have any differences with version you used on video
I'll see if I find some time to create a new tutorial with 2.6
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 01:01 PM
Post: #9
 
Thanks for help, collisions are now working !

I send you any pictures of my textures problem :
1) I modelise and texture diffuses on 3dsmax. Then export as .obj, to see it in Blender
2) In Blender, when file is saved as .obj or .blend, all is looking good, textures are assigned. So I export as .jpk
3) I reload .jbk on blender : only one texture appears...

In list.txt, only 1 texture has been saved during .jpk export...


In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 01:40 PM
Post: #10
 
Looks like a bug. Can you upload the blend file (with External Data/Pack into .blend file)?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 02:19 PM
Post: #11
 
I've uploaded, but problem stays the same...

can you have a look on it ?

here is a link to download my track :

In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

it contains .obj, .blend, .jpk files, textures...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 02:47 PM
Post: #12
 
OK got it. Switch into edit mode "tab" and split mesh "p" by material. You will get 6 objects. With one texture per object. This should export and will also allow you to assign different surfaces to each object(asphalt, gravel, grass).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 05:02 PM
Post: #13
 
It works ! exept 1 object, the track.

in blend, there is mesh, mesh.001, mesh.002, mesh.003, mesh.004, mesh.005

when I export as .jpk, the "mesh" file diseapear.
I named it as mesh.000 but it still diseapear !!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 06:07 PM
Post: #14
 
It doesn't disappear it is empty(no vertices). For some strange reason it worked for me the first time I tried. Now it doesn't. Looks like the split function in blender is buggy, sigh.
It has problems to separate the starting line from the road I think. You'll have to do it manually I guess(select and split). Your target is to have one material/texture per mesh.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 06:43 PM
Post: #15
 
Blender accepts 5 textures on the 6 I assigned !

For now It's ok for me : My goal for me was to learn how import tracks correctly in Vdrift.

Thanks for the help !
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)