Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Vdrift not starting on Ubuntu 10.10
09-13-2011, 09:49 PM
Post: #1
Vdrift not starting on Ubuntu 10.10
I have recently install Vdrift but when I start it I get a blank black screen for a split second. So, I try to start it in Terminal I still get the blank black screen and this is what I get:

INFO: Starting VDrift: 2010-07-24-full, Version: , O/S: Unix-like
INFO: Home directory: /home/rlemontw
INFO: Settings file: /home/rlemontw/.vdrift/VDrift.config (does not exist, will be created)
INFO: Data directory: /usr/share/games/vdrift/data
DATA_DIR: /usr/share/games/vdrift/data
INFO: Log file: /home/rlemontw/.vdrift/log.txt
INFO: The last VDrift startup was unsuccessful.
Settings have been set to failsafe defaults.
Your original VDrift.config file was backed up to VDrift.config.backup
INFO: SDL initialization successful
INFO: SDL video query was successful
INFO: Disabling antialiasing
INFO: Display change was successful: 800x600x16 16z fullscreen=0
INFO: Video card information:
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce 7300 GS/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
Version: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 173.14.28
Maximum texture size: 4096
Maximum varying floats: 32
Using GLEW 1.5.2
INFO: Your video card doesn't support framebuffer objects. Disabling shaders.
Segmentation fault


I have searched the Ubuntu forums and here but can not find the right answer to fix. Can someone please help. Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2011, 05:32 PM
Post: #2
 
try to execute "gdb vdrift" which should launch gnu debugger and after that some text will appear. It will launch something like a prompt starting with "(gdb)" type run and play until it crashes. On crash return to the gdb prompt and write bt. Please post the result of this.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2011, 06:35 PM
Post: #3
 
antoniovazquez Wrote:try to execute "gdb vdrift" which should launch gnu debugger and after that some text will appear. It will launch something like a prompt starting with "(gdb)" type run and play until it crashes. On crash return to the gdb prompt and write bt. Please post the result of this.

Thanks

Here is the results. I still get the black screen but now it just sits on the black screen.

GNU gdb (GDB) 7.2-ubuntu
Copyright © 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i686-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...
Reading symbols from /usr/games/vdrift...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /usr/games/vdrift
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
INFO: Starting VDrift: 2010-07-24-full, Version: , O/S: Unix-like
INFO: Home directory: /home/rlemontw
INFO: Settings file: /home/rlemontw/.vdrift/VDrift.config (does not exist, will be created)
INFO: Data directory: /usr/share/games/vdrift/data
DATA_DIR: /usr/share/games/vdrift/data
INFO: Log file: /home/rlemontw/.vdrift/log.txt
INFO: The last VDrift startup was unsuccessful.
Settings have been set to failsafe defaults.
Your original VDrift.config file was backed up to VDrift.config.backup
[New Thread 0xa87f1b70 (LWP 22038)]
INFO: SDL initialization successful
INFO: SDL video query was successful
INFO: Disabling antialiasing
[Thread 0xa87f1b70 (LWP 22038) exited]
INFO: Display change was successful: 800x600x16 16z fullscreen=0
INFO: Video card information:
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce 7300 GS/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
Version: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 173.14.28
Maximum texture size: 4096
Maximum varying floats: 32
Using GLEW 1.5.2
INFO: Your video card doesn't support framebuffer objects. Disabling shaders.

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x00000000 in ?? ()
(gdb)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2011, 06:47 PM
Post: #4
 
Just a guess, but the 2010 release had a bug in the texture loading code which might cause a segfault on OpenGL2 level hardware. It happened to me with an Intel GPU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2011, 11:12 PM
Post: #5
 
Don't forget this part:

antoniovazquez Wrote:On crash return to the gdb prompt and write bt. Please post the result of this.

Or, you can try downloading the newest release and see if it's fixed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2011, 05:22 PM
Post: #6
 
joevenzon Wrote:Don't forget this part:

antoniovazquez Wrote:On crash return to the gdb prompt and write bt. Please post the result of this.

Or, you can try downloading the newest release and see if it's fixed.

I have tried the newest release and get the same thing. Here is the results from bt.

(gdb) bt
#0 0x00000000 in ?? ()
#1 0x081b4abe in ?? ()
#2 0x081b4da5 in ?? ()
#3 0x081b6186 in ?? ()
#4 0x080f474f in ?? ()
#5 0x080c7634 in ?? ()
#6 0x080d9d4d in ?? ()
#7 0x081730ea in ?? ()
#8 0x00410ce7 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6
#9 0x0804fb71 in ?? ()
(gdb)

Still just a blank screen.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2011, 08:48 PM
Post: #7
 
Did you compile from source? The debugger isn't giving useful information because debugging info has been stripped. You should try compiling the latest version (2011-09-01) from source.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2011, 09:38 AM
Post: #8
 
joevenzon Wrote:Did you compile from source? The debugger isn't giving useful information because debugging info has been stripped. You should try compiling the latest version (2011-09-01) from source.

I have been trying to do that but I can not figure out the unpacking using the tar command. Here is what I get:

rlemontw@rlemontw-EL435AA-ABA-SR1720NX-NA610:~$ tar jxvf vdrift-src-2011-09-01.tar.bz2
tar (child): vdrift-src-2011-09-01.tar.bz2: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now


After I download the source it is in my download folder should it be somewhere and that is why it can't find the file or directory?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2011, 12:24 AM
Post: #9
 
Yeah you need to change directory (the cd command) to where the file is.

In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2011, 09:21 PM
Post: #10
 
joevenzon Wrote:Yeah you need to change directory (the cd command) to where the file is.

In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

Awesome! Alright, so now I am at the scons step and here is what I get? I tried reading other forums but I can't find one with my same situation.

scons: Reading SConscript files ...
Checking for C++ header file asio.hpp... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file boost/bind.hpp... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file GL/gl.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file GL/glu.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file SDL/SDL.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file SDL/SDL_image.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file SDL/SDL_rotozoom.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file vorbis/vorbisfile.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file GL/glew.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file curl/curl.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file bullet/btBulletCollisionCommon.h... (cached) yes
Checking for C++ header file archive.h... (cached) yes
scons: done reading SConscript files.
scons: Building targets ...
CPP build/ai.o
In file included from src/drawable.h:6,
from src/drawable_container.h:4,
from src/scenenode.h:4,
from src/ai.h:6,
from src/ai.cpp:1:
src/model.h:29: warning: unused parameter ‘strFileName’
src/model.h:29: warning: unused parameter ‘error_output’
In file included from src/drawable.h:6,
from src/drawable_container.h:4,
from src/scenenode.h:4,
from src/ai.h:6,
from src/ai.cpp:1:
src/model.h:31: warning: unused parameter ‘strFileName’
src/model.h:31: warning: unused parameter ‘error_output’
src/model.h:31: warning: unused parameter ‘genlist’
In file included from src/gl3v/rendertextureentry.h:5,
from src/gl3v/rendermodelext.h:6,
from src/rendermodelext_drawable.h:4,
from src/drawable.h:8,
from src/drawable_container.h:4,
from src/scenenode.h:4,
from src/ai.h:6,
from src/ai.cpp:1:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘void GLWrapper::SamplerParameteri(GLuint, GLenum, GLint)’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:129: error: ‘glSamplerParameteri’ was not declared in this scope
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘void GLWrapper::SamplerParameterf(GLuint, GLenum, GLfloat)’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:130: error: ‘glSamplerParameterf’ was not declared in this scope
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘void GLWrapper::SamplerParameterfv(GLuint, GLenum, const GLfloat*)’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:131: error: ‘glSamplerParameterfv’ was not declared in this scope
In file included from src/gl3v/rendertextureentry.h:5,
from src/gl3v/rendermodelext.h:6,
from src/rendermodelext_drawable.h:4,
from src/drawable.h:8,
from src/drawable_container.h:4,
from src/scenenode.h:4,
from src/ai.h:6,
from src/ai.cpp:1:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘GLuint GLWrapper::GenSampler()’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:150: error: ‘glGenSamplers’ was not declared in this scope
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘void GLWrapper::DeleteSampler(GLuint)’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:151: error: ‘glDeleteSamplers’ was not declared in this scope
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘void GLWrapper::BindSampler(GLuint, GLuint)’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:152: error: ‘glBindSampler’ was not declared in this scope
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h: In member function ‘void GLWrapper::unbindSampler(GLuint)’:
src/gl3v/glwrapper.h:153: error: ‘glBindSampler’ was not declared in this scope
In file included from src/cardynamics.h:7,
from src/car.h:4,
from src/ai.cpp:2:
src/cardifferential.h: At global scope:
src/cardifferential.h:58: warning: unused parameter ‘new_side1_speed’
src/cardifferential.h:58: warning: unused parameter ‘new_side2_speed’
In file included from src/cardynamics.h:14,
from src/car.h:4,
from src/ai.cpp:2:
src/caraerodynamicdevice.h:101: warning: unused parameter ‘s’
scons: *** [build/ai.o] Error 1
scons: building terminated because of errors.


Thanks for all your help joevenzon, I much appreciate it. I or should I say we are almost there I can feel it. 8)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2011, 03:23 AM
Post: #11
 
This is a known ubuntu issue:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

I'll add it to the wiki.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2011, 06:51 AM
Post: #12
 
NaN Wrote:This is a known ubuntu issue:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

I'll add it to the wiki.

Thanks NaN - Where do I put the tgz file once downloaded and I am having trouble unpacking it. I am new to Linux and I dont know much code yet.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2011, 07:11 AM
Post: #13
 
tgz is simply an archive like zip. You have to unpack it either with filemanager or from shell "tar xzvf filename.tgz". Switch into the unpacked directory "cd filename" and build, install the library "make; sudo make install".
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2011, 07:16 AM
Post: #14
 
Though I am not sure if and how this is going to interfere with the ubuntu package and update manager. You should eventually ask the ubuntu guys to be sure.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2011, 07:20 AM
Post: #15
 
More info on compiling under ubuntu: In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.

They say you should use "sudo checkinstall" instead of "sudo make install" to get it registered in the package manager.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)