Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
tyre/tire selection
06-12-2010, 04:20 PM
Post: #31
 
this may be a slight problem. when i don't size the wheel for the inner ring (instead opting for the outer), on some of the wheels (pentagonal hub and snowflake) i get some z-thrashing in blender.

still working on it. should have them all up in the next hour.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 04:25 PM
Post: #32
 
Great! The new code is in the trunk. I am converting the car files atm.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 06:16 PM
Post: #33
 
I've checked your new 5_spoke_m.joe. You've got it almost right, just forgot to set object scale back to (1,1,1) before export. I've uploaded the correctly scaled mesh.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 06:29 PM
Post: #34
 
oh, ok. i was curious about that.

i thought i ci'ed everything. but it didn't take for some reason. just ci'ed, and then read this message. doh!!!
letme make another attempt. btw, should we go ahead an upscale the rim_edge to 1m so we don't have to remove scaling afterward?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 06:45 PM
Post: #35
 
The rim object is scaled for a 225r16 tire. Simply change the scale of the rim from 0.406 to 1 (and from 0.225 to .65).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 06:54 PM
Post: #36
 
not quite what i was asking.
let me pose some assumptions
before export, the wheel mesh should be enlarged so that it's diameter is about 1.0 blender units?

if so, can i size the rim's edge template (as it exists in blender) so it's diameter is also 1.08 at the outside and about 1.0 at the inside? since the rim's edge isn't exported it shouldn't make a difference to what the final product looks like, only that there will be one less step in each wheel that gets built.

[edit punctuation]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 07:01 PM
Post: #37
 
The rim template has already the size 1.08-1.0. It is just that I scaled it down to 225r16. Have a look at the ScaleX,Y,Z parameters of the rim template object(press N key).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 07:06 PM
Post: #38
 
i gotcha.

i'll get right on it.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2010, 07:18 PM
Post: #39
 
ok, i think it's all good in the data directory now. i didn't update 5_spoke_m.joe, 'cause you said you got the correct one uploaded already.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2010, 05:18 AM
Post: #40
 
There is another thing that I've got wrong. The wheel mesh must not protrude beyond the outer rim edge else wheel placement will be wrong(center is calculated from bounding box). I'll update the meshes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2010, 05:30 AM
Post: #41
 
There has been only one to be fixed, the 5_spoke_m. The other meshes look good.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2010, 12:29 PM
Post: #42
 
cool! you added the rotors

oddity 1:
loaded up the tc6 with 4 different wheels. the ones on the right didn't load correctly (same meshes as on the left, but a different texture).

oddity 2:
snowflake, being a very deep-set wheel, has the rotor on the outside. not 100% sure if what we should do about this (if anything).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2010, 12:35 PM
Post: #43
 
Quote: 4 different wheels
Left and right wheel are sharing the same mesh atm. I'll change it.

Quote:the rotor on the outside.
Should I make the rotor optional?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2010, 12:45 PM
Post: #44
 
I could actually displace the rotor based on the wheel-mesh bounding box. Currently it is placed at wheel center.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-14-2010, 07:11 AM
Post: #45
 
the rotor should be optional, 'cause some cars won't have them or only have them on the front. but also displacing it behind the wheel via bounding box sounds like a good idea too.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)