Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
resolution critical bug
02-28-2009, 02:07 PM
Post: #1
resolution critical bug
I was playing your last public version in single race mode with full screen.When the race started i chose as resolution 1280x960x32 and i quitted the game.After that i ran the vdrift.exe in order to play the game with the new options.To my surprise the game did't run at all.Only the console appeared and then nothing at all.I uninstalled and reinstalled the game hoping to be able to run the game again but nothing.Finally i checked the stderr.txt and it's content was: ERROR: Display change failed: 1280x960x32 24z fullscreen=1
ERROR: Error: No video mode large enough for 1280x960
Assertion failed: 0, file src\graphics.cpp, line 257

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

Please reproduce this bug and let me know how to fix this situation.Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2009, 06:21 PM
Post: #2
 
It sounds like your display or your video device doesn't support 1280x960 resolution. What is the resolution you usually use? What is the highest resolution your video card driver and monitor support?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2009, 06:35 AM
Post: #3
 
The highest resolution my monitor supports is 1440 x 900(LG L194WS).I have also downloaded the latest drivers for my graphics card(geforce 8800 gs).Finally since my monitor is wide screen i usually use 1440 x 900 resolution.When you reproduced this bug did this effect happen to you too?What am i supposed to do to be able to run the game again?Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2009, 03:28 PM
Post: #4
 
hi chrpapas.

i'm using linux, and there the vdrift config is written in a text file. so an idea came into my mind: wouldnt it be the same on windows?
i once installed a vdrift test version on my old windows installation, which i hardly ever start.
so i checked the directory structure there:
in documents and settings/user/ dir there must be a "My Documents" directory, which is either ur default Personal Documents directory, or in case ur windows is using another language, seems to exist beside ur Personal Documents directory, with the given english name.
In there, there is a directory "My Games", containing "VDrift", which finally contains ur VDrift.config.
Just open it with a text editor, search for width and height, and adjust to your needs (width = 1440 and height = 900 then i guess).


Have fun and report back Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2009, 08:49 AM
Post: #5
 
Thanks my friend.It worked!!!!I really appreciate your help.So this is not actually a bug but it has to do with the resolution my monitor supports.I think it would be better, if a user is about to set a resolution that is not supported by his monitor to be informed by a message in order to avoid troubleshooting.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2009, 10:23 PM
Post: #6
 
Quote:if a user is about to set a resolution that is not supported by his monitor to be informed by a message in order to avoid troubleshooting.

I added an issue for this:
In order to view links, you must have to reply to this thread.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)